North Carolina requires all couples to obtain a marriage license before the ceremony takes place. Licenses are available at any Register of Deeds office in North Carolina. The marriage will be recorded in the county in which the license was obtained although the ceremony may take place in any other county in the state. Each county may require specific fees and particular documents of identification in various age groups.
The Register of Deeds, (252) 745-4421, in Pamlico County is on the first floor in the courthouse on N.C. Highway 55 in Bayboro. The office requires a divorce decree or death certificate of deceased spouse from any prospective bride or groom who has ever been divorced or widowed. Marriage licenses are issued Monday through Friday from 8 AM to 4 PM to the bride and groom aged 21 or older, both present with government issued picture identification and Social Security cards or W-2 or tax return and $60 cash. Those 18 and older should bring driver's licenses, Social Security cards, and certified birth certificates. Those 17 and younger must be accompanied by a parent or guardian with picture i.d. and legal proof of his or her role. Anyone younger than 16 and wishing to be married must present a properly obtained court order. The license is valid for 60 days. After the marriage, the couple can pick up one free certified copy of the marriage certificate. Copies after the first one are $10 each. The Magistrate's Office, (252) 745-6619, is number 200 Main Street in the Pamlico County Law Enforcement Center next to the courthouse.